Anahata - The Heart Chakra

Self-Worth, Perception, Compassion.....

The heart chakra......
Imagine feeling pure and unconditional love flowing out of you and around you. Imagine yourself compassionate and generous.....this is the third chakra, often thought of as the love centre of our body's energy system.

It is the first of the spiritual chakras and, in Sanskrit, Anahata means 'unstruck sound'. It is located in the chest and is linked to the thymus which forms part of our immune system.

It governs self-worth, unconditional love and compassion. Learning to love yourself is key to nurturing the heart chakra.

A balanced fourth chakra helps you to see the positive side in yourself and others. You are perceptive, kind, co-operative and compassionate.

When this chakra is aligned it promotes optimism, hope and motivation. It is where your physical and spiritual side this is where you can make it possible to transform your creative ideas into a physical reality.

When it is out of balance you may have feelings of inadequacy and think negative thoughts about yourself.....maybe feel unfulfilled emotionally. You may find yourself being selfish, indecisive and possessive.

Below you can see the specific associations with the Anahata:

Colour Green
Element Air
Animal Antelope
Sound YAM

Is Your Heart Chakra in Balance?

Physical health problems may include:

Heart and circulatory problems, breathing disorders and upper back pain.

Emotional health problems may include:

Loneliness, lack of self-worth, fear and paranoia.

The best essential oils to use with this chakra are balancing, calming and those that help with the respiratory system.

Here are some good oils to help balance the anahata:

  • Rose, neroli, geranium, chamomile, ylang-ylang and jasmine - balancing oils which help with self-love and loving others.
  • Eucalyptus, peppermint, chamomile, frankincense, rose, sandalwood and rosemary - help support the respiratory system when feeling breathless or tight chested.

Remember, Lavender is useful for all seven main chakras.

Air is the element associated with this chakra, so spraying some drops of essential oils, diluted with water, into your surrounding space works well! Also breathing exercises help nurture this energy 'love' centre.

Finally, here are a few quotes I came across which, for me, sum up the heart chakra........

If you want others to be happy, practice compassion. If you want to be happy, practice compassion.
~Dalai Lama~

Time is too slow for those who wait, too swift for those who fear, too long for those who grieve, too short for those who rejoice, but for those who love, time is eternity.
~Henry Van Dyke~

Love makes your soul crawl out from its hiding place.
~Zora Neale Hurston~

Beginning today, treat everyone you meet as if they were going to be dead by midnight. Extend to them all the care, kindness and understanding you can muster, and do it with no thought of any reward. Your life will never be the same again.
~Og Mandino~

Move onto Throat Chakra

Return From Heart Chakra to Chakras

Return From Here to Home Page